UNCONTESTED DIVORCE 

How much does it cost?

  • There are two separate parts to the total cost -- the attorney fee and the court filing fee.

How much is the attorney fee?

  • For a flat fee of $495, Mr. Hogan will not only prepare all the legal documents but he will also file everything with the court.  Then all you and your spouse need to is sign the legal documents.

What is this so much less than at other law offices?

  • Efficiency.  Over the last 30 years Mr. Hogan has handled hundreds of cases like yours.  So you don't have to spend a lot of your money on things you don't need.

How much is the court filing fee?

  • The filing fee charged by the court is $344.

Is the $344 court filing fee included as part of the attorney fee?

  • No, the court filing fee and the attorney fee are separate.

When are these payments due?

  • The legal documents will be prepared for your signature right after the $495 is received.
  • Later, after you and your spouse have both signed, then the $344 court filing fee is needed.

What if we have children?

  • The $495 also covers the preparation of the parenting plan and child support order.  

What if the legal documents need to be changed?

  • Any errors in the documents would be corrected without charge.
  • But if you and your spouse decide to change the terms of the legal documents, such change orders would cost an additional $100.

So if my spouse won’t sign, do I get my money back?

  • No. So before you hire any attorney, you should try to determine what your spouse will agree to.

Do I have to come to Mr. Hogan's office in Seattle?

  • Not unless you want to.  That's your choice.  
  • Hundreds of clients have completed the entire process without ever coming to downtown Seattle.  
  • We can easily do everything by a combination of phone, fax, mail and email.

Will either my spouse or I need to go to court?

  • Not if you both sign the legal documents in agreement.  Then your case can be filed in Lincoln County, which does not require either one of you to go to court.

Will either my spouse or I need to go to parenting classes?

  • Not if you both sign the legal documents in agreement.  Then your case can be filed in Lincoln County, which does not require attendance at parenting classes.

What is the difference between divorce and legal separation?

  • In a divorce, the court resolves all the financial and child-related issues and then dissolves the marriage.  Both parties are then single.
  • In a legal separation, the court resolves all the financial and child-related issues, but does not dissolve the marriage.  Both parties remain married to each other.

What are the grounds for divorce or legal separation?

  • Washington is a "no fault divorce" state.  
  • You do not need to prove that anybody did anything wrong in order to get either a divorce or legal separation.

How long does the process take?

  • Divorces take about four months. Washington state law requires a mandatory minimum 90-day "cooling off period" in every divorce case.  Sorry, but the law makes no exceptions.
  • Legal separations take about one month because there is no mandatory a 90-day waiting period.

What if I have other questions?

  • You may call Mr. Hogan at 206-292-8080 for your free telephone consultation.
  • Or you may email him at hoganlaw@msn.com.